In many parts of the world, the day after Christmas is referred to as Boxing Day–a day in which the social order is reversed. The working class gets celebrated with tips/gifts. Some in the military switch ranks for the day. Some have public celebrations where the working class leads parades.

Therefore, I have taken it upon myself to reverse the order of Festivus on the day after it, and declare that it shall henceforth be known as Suvitsef…a day in which we celebrate the Airing of Commendation followed by Repose of the Humble.

It is in that spirit that I offer equal time today for my Airing of Commendations!

Kudos to my wife of 28 years. She’s more beautiful to me now than ever before, and embraces the peculiar adventure of life I drag her through with grace and a smile. We might not have any idea what we’re doing here in midlife, but we’re doing it together. Lesser women would’ve been gone long ago.

Kudos to my daughters. I’m smitten with their wild differences and devastated by their similarities. They are truly smart, beautiful and unique. I couldn’t be prouder of them if I tried. “Love” just scratches the surface of my feelings toward them.

Kudos to the Creator for inventing dogs, far and away the greatest animal on the planet.

Kudos to Deep Ellum for welcoming all comers, especially the missus and I. We found our fit here in the most eclectic neighborhood in Dallas, and this place is lifegiving.

Kudos to the Ramones, the Clash, the Sex Pistols, Social Distortion, X, Fear, Black Flag, R.E.M., the Talking Heads and Frank Turner for providing the soundtracks that help me get through tough times…and celebrate some good ones.

Kudos to some folks at Dallas Seminary who are part of the LEAD weekend. They helped me and the missus discover some things about ourselves that will give the last half of our lives true meaning and such. Not to get all sappy about it, Dr. Hillman and Bill Hendricks, even though we’re broke, we’re bohemian happy and smiling at the future.

Kudos to Alan Hirsch, Hugh Halter, David Fitch, Mike Frost, Charlie Ridenour & Barry Jones for beating the drum of incarnational ministry. It’s flipped our lives upside down–which it’s supposed to do (which is why so many like the idea but truly fear executing, hence will never do it)–and I can only hope all your influence in these areas will get our Tribe seriously neighboring, third spacing and getting the heck out of the church walls for Kingdom influence. Now if we can just get congregations to execute instead of lip-servicing.

Kudos to Peticolas and Lagavulin. You know why.

Kudos to my hetero life mates. I have few friends I can depend on to call me out or build me up when I need either but you guys seem to find that balance every time.

Kudos to all the readers here at The Diner. I’ve been here posting thoughts since 2003 (I can’t believe I used to blog daily) and you’ve been here reading the things I write only to get the clutter out of my brain so I can get stuff done. But for some reason an inordinate amount of you keep coming back…so thanks for that!

Now, for all of you gathered around the Suvitsef Cairn, it’s your turn…

