In order to start exercising the writing muscle a bit, I asked my Facebook friends for suggestions for top-5 lists.  You know, prompts to get the brain going.  The fifteenth one is from my friend Kendra, who asked for…

Top Five Things I Should Appreciate About Myself

(it’s funny as this topic was one that made me uncomfortable for two reasons: First, it’s all going to sound like a humble-brag. Second, I tend to be a pretty harsh critic of myself. But, hey, I opened up this can of list worms so time to get uncomfortable and do it)

  1. I’m very loyal. Doesn’t matter who or what.  I am loyal to my family. My circle of friends. My university football team or pro baseball/hockey team. My employer. My pets.  I’m that guy that if you’re in the circle, I’ll take a bullet for you at any point. If you’re not, I’d punch you in the head if somebody in my circle asked me to.
  2. I have deep friendships. They are few in number for sure…but I value them and am at my best authentic self in them. I’d rather be hated for who I am than loved for who I am not, that’s for sure. My friends bring out my better qualities. As several have joked, I am an “acquired taste.”
  3. I’ve gotten really good at accepting people for who they are.  I make jokes that we’re all God’s little snowflakes and all that, but I really do love the reality that God’s Kingdom is big enough a broad enough for anybody…and to some degree can appreciate the good qualities they have even if I’m generally annoyed by them or disagree with their points of view. I think this is an offshoot of years of student ministry experience.
  4. I do the best I can to be a good husband and a good dad.  I am so far from perfect in those areas but it isn’t because I didn’t try to serve and show love.
  5. I feel like I am a very good teacher in a classroom setting.  My style is peculiar but honest, and my quirky Socratic method has a way of connecting with people wherever they happen to be.  I definitely don’t get to teach as much as I’d like to but am working on that! 🙂
