In order to start exercising the writing muscle a bit, I asked my Facebook friends for suggestions for top-5 lists.  You know, prompts to get the brain going.  The twelfth one is from my friend Shawn, who asked for…

Top Five Things I Want To Write About

  1. I have a children’s book idea that’s been percolating for over 10 years.  I’ve told the idea to several people who think it would be great (I don’t want to put it out here so somebody steals it)…and I think it would be a challenge to write something that would be a mash up of Kurt Vonnegut & Dr. Suess and about something that would really teach children to think about eternal things.
  2. When I get my sabbatical in 2018 I plan on doing this:  Seeing a major league baseball game in every MLB stadium over the course of one baseball season, and tying it in with the spiritual life.  Sort of a road trip with deep thoughts.  I’m not worried about anybody stealing this idea because everybody could and no two books would be the same.  And few people have my view of the spiritual life.
  3. My dissertation, which at this point examines what discipleship should be and how churches design their ministries to achieve that end.  I’m hoping that a book that could help churches do that and get their people on mission (a key evidence of discipleship, which I hope I can connect those dots) will come out of that.
  4. One for my kids:  stories I remember about my parents and grandparents.  My parents died so young and my kids never got to meet their grandparents and great grandparents really.
  5. Something for parents that helps them relax, enjoy their kids and parenting, and not written from a position of strength. Rather, written from the perspective of “here’s where I goofed it up and how God was faithful anyway” kind of mindset.