By now, I’m sure you’ve heard the news and I wanted to put this out there for friends & family who aren’t on my mail list:

November 16, 2011.

How do you put 15 years of life together into one concise page?

You don’t.

There’s simply not enough space to walk down a memory lane of weddings, funerals, graduations, mission trips, and the slow business of spiritual formation we’ve experienced together over the 5,555 days I’ve worked at CBC.  My guess is there will be ample time for that over the next few weeks.

Because, it is with mixed emotions that I tell my family that, effective December 31, 2011, I will no longer be working at Crossroads Bible Church.

My emotions are mixed simply because, on one hand, I am excited to see the work of God not only in my personal life but also excited to see how He is moving in the life of this congregation.  It is evident to me there is ample reason to believe that some of the best days of CBC lie ahead, and those reasons are legion.

On the other hand, you have been my family for the last decade and a half.  My children were raised here, the spiritual life of my family has been deeply cultivated here, and I like to think those realities have been reciprocated.  Too much life has been lived together with all of you to feel anything but loss and a degree of sadness that I will no longer be serving you.  You are truly a wonderful group of people.

It is important for you to know that no resignation was ever asked for by any of those in authoritative roles.  Frankly, it has been a recognition by both parties that God is leading in strangely thrilling and wonderful ways.  No one is wearing a “black hat.”  There are no “smoking guns.” There is no “behind-the-scenes” story or hidden agenda.  Sometimes things simply are what people say they are.

As I said before, my guess is there will be ample time for all of us to reminisce.  And we should.  And we will. Those times have been the ride of my life…both professionally and personally.

But for today, please allow me to say thank you to the body of Christ at CBC for the best years in the life of me and my family…and even as I type those words they don’t seem to have the weight behind them that I’d like them to.  I am grateful beyond words for your ministry to me.

And allow me to say again how deeply I love this church and the people that comprise it.  I wish there was more weight behind those words as well.

You have trusted me with the most precious of cargo over these last 15 years, and my life is better for having walked this part of the journey with all of you.

Your Servant,

Brent McKinney