Good Old Days Syndrome, Part 1

Club bands I really dug in college, in order:

37 Targetz

The Extras

White Animals

Mr. Resistor and the Incapacitators

Baby Blue

Music that somehow reminds me of random college days:

“Rock and Roll,” by Led Zeppelin, only because my friend Tim Huff and I hosted a Live Aid party, which raised like $500 dollars that afternoon and we (trying to be big shot humanitarians) said we’d give 20 bucks each if Led Zeppelin took the stage…and neither of us had any idea they were on the bill.

“Papa Don’t Preach” by Madonna, because my friend Dave imitated her dancing in the video whenever he had too much to drink (he was horrible, but we weren’t about to tell him that).

Some early-80’s rap song that repeated the words “C’mon C’mon Shake Shake It” from my neo-conservative blog commenter roommate Hollywood’s record collection we used to play before parties.

“Kung Fu Fighting” by Disco Tex and the Sex-O-Lettes because my friend Chris (who was given the album by his friend Art) played it all the time.

“Heaven’s On Fire” by Kiss, when Mark and Tim would come in the fraternity house, turn up their stereos too loud and repeat Gene Simmons heavy breathing (Huh! Huh! Hah! Huh!) on the beats after a long night of binge drinking.

“Cheeseburger in Paradise” when my friend T.J. had his 168-hour marathon of Jimmy Buffet music and one entire day was devoted to that song.

“Driver 8” by R.E.M. because if you wanted to be cool, you had to listen to R.E.M, and when their album “Fables” came out, those of us who were into them accused them of selling out.

Sure, there was a lot of really good music out there that has stood the test of time from my college days (notably The Talking Heads, U2, R.E.M., et al) but these stupid songs somehow wound up in the background.

Now, if I could just find that Philadelphia Flyers jersey I used to wear all the time…and if I had all my vinyl back…my Good Old Days day would be complete.